Soaring in the air to spike the ball.

Soaring in the air to spike the ball.

Ok, well…I could practice my jumping abilities. Anyway. Volleyball has always been a passion of mine. I started playing in middle school and have continued up through now. I have transitioned from playing indoor to sand since entering college and I love it. I can dive without hitting a hard floor, which is always a positive. Plus it is more work to run after the ball and jump since sand is not a stable surface like a hardwood court. I play about three times a week for about three hours. It’s definitely good exercise playing.

I am playing on two volleyball teams this year, as I mentioned before. Last spring semester, my men’s competitive team finished third out of 42 teams in the whole university. So needless to say, this year my team and I are out for blood. Not literally. I’m not that violent. But you get the point.

On a side note, I believe it is really important to find a hobby or activity you are passionate about outside of your career. I am in the news industry and produce the 5 pm live news broadcast every Tuesday. Being in the newsroom for nine hours can be draining, so playing volleyball is a good way for me to escape the often stressful environment and stay sane. Whether it be a sport or an organization you like to be involved with, find something on the side to make your life a tad more enjoyable and healthy.